a journey in His service

Lightening Bugs

It has taken me a couple of weeks to process all that happened in the village.  There were some real highlights and a few lowlights.  The challenges were different than I had expected.  For example I had seen visible malnutrition before but it was different to experience the inability to help.  I was not prepared for how I would feel about it.  With many emotions and thoughts tumbling through my head my mind felt a little like a kaleidoscope.  I would like to tell you one of my best memories which is about lightening bugs.

A couple weeks before I went to the village a funny thing happened.  As I was getting into bed I noticed a lightening bug on my mosquito net.  The thought crossed my mind that lightening bugs were God’s way of reminding us He is there even in the dark.  I posted that thought to Facebook, went to sleep and forgot about it.

Weeks later when I had been in the village about a week another funny thing happened.  I had dealt with about all I was capable of handling.  I was frustrated to tears.  I decided to take a bucket bath and try to cool down before I went to bed that night.  I went to my not so private space and began to pray as I bathed.  (I know that is not reverent and not so respectful but this was my only “alone” time.)  I had my eyes closed attempting to rinse my hair.   I prayed “God why did you put me here?  If you don’t show me soon I am just not going to make it.”

Suddenly I felt covered in bugs!  I opened my eyes to find that I, the wall and the palm fronds next to me were all aglow with lightening bugs.  I wasn’t simply covered in bugs I was surrounded by God’s love.  What a spectacular and visible way for Him to show me He was with me!  That night was the only time I saw a lightening but while in that village.

Sometimes we look for miraculous signs when He is already there showing us His presence in little ways like lightening bugs.  All we need to do is open our eyes.

 

Comments on: "Lightening Bugs" (1)

  1. Kristen D. said:

    This gives me chills to think about! What an awesome reminder of his Love! I’m so glad you shared this story with us, bath bucket and all! 🙂

Leave a comment