a journey in His service

Expectations

In the last post I mentioned that I am reading a book called Expectations and Burnout; Women surviving the Great Commission.  I am finding it very helpful to see some of my thoughts in print.  As with all good books, as I was reading a few statements stuck out.  One comment is on page 14, “…if what we do becomes the determining factor on which we base our worth or significance, we may be in big trouble.”

This is a statement of clarity not just for missionaries but for everyone.

 In America when we are first introduced to someone we often ask as a lead in question, “what do you do?”   We ask, as if that short question is going to give us some clue as to the nature of the person to whom we are talking.  Many people do in fact feel as if their identity is tied up in their occupation even though they fill many roles such as parent, spouse, little league coach, church leader, PTA member, etc.  The list can go on and on.

We set these lofty goals but if we don’t reach them in the timeline we laid out we begin to feel like a failure.  In her book All that is bitter sweet, Ashley Judd says “Expectations are premeditated resentments.” (pg 386) Everyone has expectations whether realized or subliminal.  Fighting a natural temptation to believe them is the struggle.

I say that because I always set my goals just above what is realistic in reaching.  I have always done that.  My expectations usually follow those goals, being just beyond realistic.  I will often truly believe that these expectations are going to happen.  That is often about the time when I hear someone say it is in God’s time not ours.  So what about when He says “no”?  How do I fit that into the expectations and timeline?  For me that is a struggle.  

I move on with the thought in my head from 1 Cor. 4:17.  “For our current struggles are small and won’t last long.”  My struggles are small and many are either self created or magnified due to my actions.  So I ask you to join me prayer.  This time the prayer is for me, that I can make realistic goals and curb my expectations into manageable ideas that are more helpful.  Pray that I will have the strength to go after those goals and serve in the manner I was placed here to do.

 

Leave a comment